

SWIPE MENTOR AWARD 2022-23

Description

The SWIPE Mentor Award pays tribute to women and men who have invested in the professional success of women in the IPE field. Originating in the early 1990s, the Society for Women in International Political Economy (SWIPE) observed that many women in IPE did not have the close mentoring relationships that their male counterparts seemed to benefit from. Indeed, while research across disciplines has shown that mentoring can be key to higher publication rates and successfully achieving tenure, women tend to get less mentoring than men.

Therefore, to recognize excellent mentoring in their field, members created the SWIPE Mentor Award, presenting the first award to Robert Keohane in 1997. Recipients have included scholars, an academic press editor, and deans. In 2009, with the view that many of its original goals had been reached and that other organizations were addressing its concerns, SWIPE disbanded. The award is now administered by ISA's International Political Economy Section.

Nominate for the Award

- Nominations (including self-nominations) must include the nominee's current C.V. and a letter describing how the nominee has mentored women in IPE, for example by supporting female scholars in publishing and networking, providing career advice and guidance, and/or any other activity that supports women's careers in the field of IPE.
- Nominations may come from any member of ISA and should be sent by e-mail to the Chair of the SWIPE Selection Committee.
- Nominations may be accompanied by letters of support from women in IPE that have been mentored by the nominee (no more than one page)
- ISA is an international organization and we encourage nominations from outside the US. The SWIPE Committee particularly encourages nominations for scholars of any group that is generally underrepresented in the discipline. We recognize that conditions for women still vary considerably from country to country
- There will be a special roundtable honoring the award recipient at the Annual Convention.
- The awardee will be given a plaque and recognition at the IPE Section's annual convention reception.
- The annual nomination deadline is **June 15**.

Committee

Boram Lee (*Chair*) Wesleyan University/LSE Email: <u>blee03@wesleyan.edu</u> Emily Jones University of Oxford Email: <u>emily.jones@bsg.ox.ac.uk</u>

Austin Strange Hong Kong University Email: <u>astrange@hku.hk</u> Nicole Wu University of Toronto Email: <u>nicolek.wu@utoronto.ca</u> Quynh Nguyen Australian National University Email: <u>q.nguyen@anu.edu.au</u>